Book Club: The Goldfinch Check In #2

Yayyyy book club!

It’s time for our second weekly check-in. If you need a refresher on how this virtual book club works, see here. (And feel free to jump in and join at any time!)

The_goldfinch_by_donna_tart

The Goldfinch has twelve (verrrrrry long) chapters, so this week we’ll discuss up through the end of chapter 6.

To check in, comment below and answer the following questions!

How far have you read?

How do you feel about the changes that have occurred since last week’s check in?

Speculation about where the novel is going?

Anything else?

I will start, but I’m going to be totally transparent here: I’ve barely read anything this week. My little angelic bundle of cuteness has been keeping me on my toes this week (literally- he wants to be held at all times) so it’s been all I can do to get my work done most days!

How far have you read? I’m on page 185, still in Chapter 4 (Morphine Lollipop), scene xvii.

How do you feel about the changes that have occurred since last week’s check in? I love how Theo has been spending a lot of time with Hobie, and I find it really interesting that Pippa has been snatched away right after something between Theo and her begins to build.

Speculation about where the novel is going? I just reached the part where Theo’s dad should up at the Barbours’ out of nowhere with his creepy girlfriend, and the anxiety is HIGH! I expect that things are about to get unpleasant for poor Theo.

Anything else? This book is already overdue but I’m not giving it back. :O

Your turn!

One thought on “Book Club: The Goldfinch Check In #2

  1. How far have you read?
    Sharayah, it sounds like we are neck ‘n’ neck. I have been slacking this week (kids with no school, real work during the day and pure laziness at night have overtaken my life this week!) and have fallen behind the milestones we should be reaching here. I’m nearing the end of chapter 4, currently 22% into the book in kindle land. This is the longest chapter ever. I’m hoping to do some serious catching up this week.

    How do you feel about the changes that have occurred since last week’s check in?
    Since last week I’ve meet Hobie and have fallen in love! He is by far my favorite character so far in this book. I love how he and Theo have embraced each other to get over the horrible hump of tragedy and are building something out of it. I was surprised and a bit distressed that Pippa is gone so soon after she and Theo connected. I have a feeling we’ll be seeing her again though. I hope so! I don’t like Aunt Margaret at all.

    It’s wonderful to see tiny sparks of healing happening within Theo as he spends time with Hobie. I know from personal experience that that’s how real healing happens, one small moment here and then another there. I suppose in some ways reading this book is like healing from tragedy, it’s going much slower than I’d like but there are some really good moments along the way!

    Speculation about where the novel is going?
    We’re definitely seeing the development of Theo’s love for antiques and old things and restoration, and that’s pretty cool the way it ties in with the museum and his mom and the painting. I’m really looking forward to the sailing lessons with Mr. Barbour, although I’m worried about the arrival of Theo’s dad, and have a feeling that will be throwing a wrench into matters. I already don’t like him.

    Anything else?
    I feel bad that I’m not reading faster, and I go back and forth between being frustrated by the somewhat slow pace and enjoying the meandering unfolding of this story. Overall, loving the book so far. The characters are so big and clear in my mind.

Leave a Reply

