New Favorite Recipes

I haven’t been posting many recipes lately, but I HAVE been cooking. Check out some of the new recipes I’ve been trying that are sure to make their way into my regular rotation!

Paleo Peppermint Brownie Roll

I didn’t do as much baking as I usually do over the holiday break- I instead decided to focus on just one really nice recipe and make it for each gathering. I settled on the Paleo Peppermint Brownie Roll from Primally Inspired.

peppermint_brownie_roll

I stuck pretty close to the original recipe, which uses primarily eggs and coconut products (oil, milk, and flour). I melted part of a Trader Joe’s 71% dark chocolate Pound Plus bar over the top and finished it with chopped candy cane pieces. The result (once it had time to solidify in the fridge) was both beautiful and delicious! After my first trial run I decided to add an extra 2 T of cocoa powder to the brownie mix because it didn’t taste chocolatey enough for me. I also increased the peppermint extract in the cream filling from 1/2 tsp to one whole teaspoon. These changes bumped the flavor up a notch and really turned this into a treat I would make again and again!

It was pretty interesting to see how it went over at different family gatherings. My husband’s side barely touched it and didn’t say a word about it (partly I think because there were a lot of treats there and it was a larger gathering of people), but my dad’s side raved over it. I had to recite the ingredient list (to everyone’s amazement at how healthy it was) a few times, and it got rave reviews. Which is of course what you hope for when bringing a fancy new dessert to a holiday party! I’d give this recipe an 8/10- My one complaint was that the brownie roll crumbled pretty badly (owing to the coconut flour, I believe) when I tried to roll it. I was able to salvage it for the most part, and the melted chocolate and candy cane pieces on top were able to cover up the mess and take it from a disaster to a beautiful dish. But I’m not a fan of that heart-stopping moment when the brownie just falls apart in my hands.

N’oatmeal Bars

Another new recipe I just tried last night that is destined to become a favorite is The Spunky Coconut’s N’oatmeal Bars. I didn’t take a pic of mine before we started eating them, so mosey over to her blog to see what they look like (and the full recipe). The main ingredient is almond butter, but since I am trying to avoid overdoing the almonds I used 1/2 almond butter and 1/2 cashew butter. I also substituted dried blueberries for the raisins, chopped walnuts instead of the shredded coconut (forgot to get it when I was at the store!) and an egg instead of the chia seed meal. The result was very much like a blondie, but less sweet and perfect for breakfast. I love finding recipes like this one that are just begging to be played around with. You could easily sweeten this up with chopped chocolate or perhaps a couple tablespoons of maple syrup for an awesome dessert, or play around with adding different dried fruits and nuts.

Gluten-Free Gingersnap Cookies

Earlier in the Christmas season I was aching for some good old Christmas cookies, but trying really hard to not OD on sugar and white flour. Against All Grain’s awesome Gingersnap Cookies recipe was just what I needed. I did end up using almond flour for these even though they call for cashew flour, since naturally that’s all I had on hand. But I like that there are options if you are trying not to overdo it with any particular nut.

This recipe uses mostly items you probably have in your pantry if you tend to follow a primal/paleo way of eating- coconut flour, arrowroot starch, coconut sugar. I happened to have some coconut sugar on hand because I surprisingly found a bag on clearance, but I usually don’t want to drop the cash for that so I would probably just omit it or add a little extra honey.

I was very pleased that this recipe allowed me to use my Christmas cookie cutters, which haven’t gotten much use since I started changing the way that I eat.

gingersnap_cookies

I had intended to frost them, but they were so nice on their own (especially with a cup of hot coffee!), not too sweet and with a perfect crunch, that I decided to just let them be. They didn’t survive long.

(Paleo-ified) Creamy White Chicken Chili

This recipe from my dear cousin April isn’t new to me, but I recently made it and have dialed in on what I think are the perfect substitutions if you are avoiding legumes and dairy, two of the things that make the original recipe so delectable.

The original recipe calls for 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream and a cup of sour cream. Instead I substituted one whole can of coconut milk (not the lite stuff- never get the lite stuff!) for the creams, and added about 1/3 of a large chopped head of cauliflower instead of beans. The coconut milk makes this soup unbelievably rich and creamy, and it’s so nutritious! I love good fats.

I also added a very generous handful of spinach for texture and spinachy vitamin goodness. I have made some version of this recipe so many times that I usually just throw it together from memory, which means that the spices usually differ from time to time. I like to add a teaspoon of fajita seasoning and also some cayenne pepper for a bit of a kick. Once again I forgot to take a picture, but you can go check out April’s amazing recipe blog to see what it looks like.

So now it’s your turn: what have you been cooking lately?

One thought on “New Favorite Recipes

  1. Mmm, I’m going to have to try your version of the chicken soup. I have a Thai chicken soup I make with coconut milk that I just love so I’m sure it works great! I have been trying to eat lighter so experimenting with a lot of new recipes on Pinterest. Two new favorites – sweet potato tacos and just last night made mango, black bean and poblano quesadillas. So good!

Leave a Reply

