Book Club: The Magician’s Assistant Check-In #1

Yayyy book club!

The Magician’s Assistant is not broken up by chapter (thanks a lot, Ann Patchett) but rather into two sections: At the Intersection of George Burns and Gracie Allen and Nebraska. The second section is nearly twice the size of the first, so those aren’t particularly helpful when it comes to deciding how to break it up. I know that some people read these on a Kindle or listen to an audiobook, and also that pagination can vary from edition to edition, but we’re just going to have to do the best we can to avoid spoilers.

16055

My version has 357 pages, so today let’s discuss no further than page 90- that’s 1/4 through. Let me know if you have a better idea for how to break this down!

Answer the following questions in your comment!

How far have you read?

What are your first impressions?

Have you read anything else by the author? (If so, what were your thoughts?)

Speculation about where the novel is going?

Anything else?

Our next check-in will be Friday, January 16.

Here’s mine:

How far have you read?
Just about halfway, thanks to my husband having an extra week off of work after Christmas and doing lots of baby-holding.

What are your first impressions?
It’s certainly not going in the direction I expected considering the title. I expected more intrigue and illusion, but this seems like it might be more of a family/finding oneself tale. Which is fine! I like Sabine’s character and am certainly intrigued by her very odd relationship with Parsifal and Phan.

Have you read anything else by the author? (If so, what were your thoughts?) Nope!

Speculation about where the novel is going?                                                              Like I mentioned above, I’m now expecting more of a tale about Sabine somehow finding herself through her (potential) interactions with Parsifal’s family. She’s spent so much of her life as sort of a slave to her feelings for Parsifal that it seems like she needs to find out who she really is now that he’s gone.

Anything else?                                                                                                                      For some reason I’m rather fond of Rabbit.

2 thoughts on “Book Club: The Magician’s Assistant Check-In #1

  1. How far have you read?
    I’m on page 100 now, just a little past the checkpoint. Parsifal’s mom and sister are still visiting L.A.

    What are your first impressions?
    There’s something charming about this book to me, although so far it’s not a super “happy” story, it still makes me smile. I find her relationship with Parsifal and Phan interesting, although slightly sad. It must be hard to live your life always a bit of a third wheel, and never think about looking for something more of your own. While their deaths are tragic, I am hoping with her new freedom she will find a life of her own. I like Sabine and have high hopes for her finding happiness. I love the dream sequences where she’s having conversations with Phan.

    Have you read anything else by the author? (If so, what were your thoughts?)
    No, although I’ve already purchased The Patron Saint of Liars. I really like her writing style so I’m looking forward to reading more.

    Speculation about where the novel is going?
    Well since part 2 is Nebraska, I’m assuming we are headed east. Talk about a fish out of water! Should be interesting.

    Anything else?
    I like Rabbit too. I like that he has no other name, and that apparently he roams free without leaving little poop pebbles everywhere like every other rabbit I’ve known. So soft, so smelly. But this is a magical rabbit.

  2. What Page am I On: 92

    First Impression: My first thought was that this book was a little depressing. I initially put off reading it because I didn’t want any more negative emotion on top of stressing out over school and starting a new job. Now that the stress has subsided and I’ve made it a little farther in the book, I am finding I enjoy it more. The arrival of Parsifal’s mother and sister and the unraveling of secrets has definitely caught my attention.

    Read Anything by This Author Before?: Nope

    Speculation About Where the Novel is Going: I feel like we are just at the tip of the iceberg with Parsifal’s secrets and I’m sure we are going to find out much more about him as we get further into the book. My fingers are crossed that Sabine is able to move on, start a new life, and find her own identity (I love happy endings!)

    Anything Else: Sorry to be behind again in book club!! I’m franticly trying read and get caught up before our next book!

Leave a Reply

