Book Club: The Magician’s Assistant Check-In #2

Yayyy book club!

How’s it going? Are you loving The Magician’s Assistant? Hating it? Sort of meh?

Today we’ll discuss no further than page 180- that’s halfway through the book.

16055

Check in below!

How far have you read?

How do you feel about the changes that have occurred since last week’s check in?

Speculation about where the novel is going?

Anything else?

I’ll go:

How far have you read?
I’ve had a lot of baby-asleep-on-me time this week, so I’m nearing the end!

How do you feel about the changes that have occurred since last week’s check in?
Obviously the most intriguing change is the revelation (SPOILER ALERT) that Parsifal/Guy killed his own father. It suddenly makes so much sense why he would never speak about his past. I think it adds a really intriguing dimension to Parsifal’s character, much more interesting (to me) than Sabine’s original assumption that he had left his family behind because they sent him to Nebraska Boy’s Reformatory simply for being gay.

Speculation about where the novel is going?
I’ve read pretty far ahead, so my guesses about the ending would come with more spoilers! I just know that I want to see Sabine happy.

Anything else?
Sabine is a fascinating character to me. She seems so tragic to me, spending a lifetime pining after someone she can never have and eventually living with him and his partner in such an odd relationship. And yet she seems almost cavalier about the tragedy of her life. She seems not to have much self esteem in spite of being an incredible artist, extremely gorgeous, and a wonderful magician to boot. It’s sort of a bummer that she seemed to idolize Parsifal so much, and yet that’s what made her happy. I hope the ending is kind to her.

Our next check-in will be Friday, January 23.

3 thoughts on “Book Club: The Magician’s Assistant Check-In #2

  1. How far have you read?
    I’m listening on an audio book CD, and I’m currently into CD 7 of 10. That means I’m just past the Carson Show viewing.

    How do you feel about the changes that have occurred since last week’s check in?
    Thus far, I don’t feel like much is changing. There doesn’t seem to be a clear conflict or motivation for the plot other than to slowly piece together little details about Parcifal’s life, which currently feels pretty complete. The interactions between Sabine and Howard feel like the start of a good fight, but nothing just yet.

    Speculation about where the novel is going?
    I think there’s going to be an issue with Howard, Kitty’s husband. He’s going to say or do something, and that will be the big finale.

    Anything else?
    I want a rabbit.

  2. How far have you read?
    I’m just at the halfway point. Page 180 exactly!

    How do you feel about the changes that have occurred since last week’s check in?
    She’s in Nebraska now and the real truth about why Parsifal was sent to the reformatory and left home has been revealed. I thought it made much more sense than the first explanation, about his being gay, especially since his mom seemed to accept that about him. Killing your abusive father on the other hand…it wasn’t about not being accepted, but about leaving to escape your past and build a new life. That made sense to me.

    Speculation about where the novel is going?
    So far it’s a pretty meandering sort of plot line. I am expecting more exploration into Parsifal’s past, and seeing him come together as a more whole character. I’m also expecting at some point for him to appear in one of Sabine’s dreams.

    Anything else?
    It’s such a nice idea that you would be given comfort and answers to lingering questions after a loved one dies, either through unexpected family members popping up, or through dream visitations. If only it really worked that way! I do think Sabine’s existence is sort of sad. Building models of buildings that will never be built, loving a man who can never love her back. And yet, she just seems to accept it, she never really seems to want or strive for something different. I hope she finds a little gumption along the way here.

  3. How far have I read: Page 180

    How I feel about the changes since the last check in: The book has gotten so much better! I have definitely been drawn into the story. For a moment there I was getting suspicious that Kitty didn’t actually exist, but then she showed up in the kitchen with that huge piece of the Parsifal puzzle. I especially liked the part where Sabine dropped her cigarette upon hearing the news, leaving a mark for the moment she found out.

    Speculation about where the novel is going: I hope Sabine decides to become a magician! Maybe Kitty can be her assistant? More will probably be revealed about Kitty soon and my guess is that she is in a less than pleasant situation with her husband.

    Anything else?: The part that discussed Phan’s death almost made me cry! Being with the person you love, lying in bed with them, holding them right up to the moment they go… It’s so sad yet in a way beautiful. I would be a mess in that situation!

Leave a Reply

