Book Club: The Magician’s Assistant Check-In #3

Yayyy book club!

Today we’re discussing no further than page 270- that’s 3/4 of the way through, a little more than halfway through section 2, Nebraska.

16055

Comment to check in!

How far have you read?

How do you feel about the changes that have occurred since last week’s check in?

Speculation about where the novel is going?

Anything else?

Our last check-in will be Friday, January 30. At that time I’ll also announce February’s book, so if you have a request please let me know!

2 thoughts on “Book Club: The Magician’s Assistant Check-In #3

  1. How far have you read?
    I am, as usual, right at the checkpoint. I know most of the rest of you have finished the dang thing already so I’m sorry to be lagging! It seems that reading is not my top priority this month. :/

    How do you feel about the changes that have occurred since last week’s check in?
    Well, not a whole lot has happened in this section, other than meeting the Nebraska characters. I do like seeing the magic skills she has acquired, seemingly almost by accident, over the years of being an assistant. I don’t think she gives herself much credit for the things she can do. The Nebraska lot are a strange bunch. Kind of depressing. I hate seeing Kitty in the same cycle of abuse that her mother was in and see the family just accepting that that is the way it is. I don’t much like Howard. The trip to Walmart cracked me up because I have been to towns exactly like that!

    Speculation about where the novel is going?
    I’m not sure it’s going anywhere! I have hopes that Sabine will find a direction for her own life. I have hopes that Howard will come in contact with Parsifal’s ghost and his baseball bat, or at the very least an anger management class… But who knows. While I like the writing style and the characters in general, but the story doesn’t really seem to be going anywhere in particular.

    Anything else?
    Nebraska sucks.

  2. How far have you read? Page 272

    How do you feel about the changes that have occurred since last week’s check in?
    What sticks out the most to me is that I do not like Howard Plate. He seems like trouble. No matter his intentions, he is not good for the mental health of the family.

    Speculation about where the novel is going?
    I’m not sure. The story seems to be circling around the family and It hasn’t progressed much. I’m starting to feel like I am stuck in Nebraska with them!

    Anything else?
    Nope, I’ve got to keep reading so I can catch up with February’s book!

Leave a Reply

