Book Club: Forever Check In #1

Sorry this first check-in is late! I thought I had scheduled them in advance but I guess not. Derp.

Forever seems to be divided into sections with smaller sub-chapters, so today let’s discuss the first two sections- through chapter 30.

pete hamill forever

How far have you read?

What are your first impressions?

Have you read anything else by the author? (If so, what were your thoughts?)

Speculation about where the novel is going?

Anything else?

One thought on “Book Club: Forever Check In #1

  1. How far have you read?
    I am just about halfway through the book.

    What are your first impressions?
    I’m really loving this one. The writing is vivid and atmospheric, and the characters are so lifelike. Something in his father’s character reminded me of my Grandad. His strength, his fierceness, his willingness to teach. I’m enjoying the history of Irish culture and also the glimpse into a darker side of U.S. history. I like the mysticism mixed with religion and family and culture that makes up who Cormac is, and who he will become.

    Have you read anything else by the author? (If so, what were your thoughts?)
    I read one of his a long time ago called Snow In August. It was wonderful. Thought provoking and beautiful. It’s about a Jewish kid in growing up in New York in the 1940’s(?), when Jackie Robinson was the first black baseball player. It’s a compelling story about baseball and racism and religion and there’s even a Golem!

    Speculation about where the novel is going?
    Well, I’ve read ahead of this checkpoint so I have a good idea of where it’s going but I’m enjoying seeing the evolution of New York, U.S. history and Cormac himself. I’m hoping there is a chance for real love and peace for him at some point.

    Anything else?
    This is one of those books I’m enjoying so much I wish it was the first in a series. I don’t want it to end.

Leave a Reply

